A Shade of Halloween (14)

Chapter Fourteen

The party finally ended and I was grateful to Trina Bayle, Vanessa Bridges and Paul Rogers for helping with taking out the trash made by my dorm mates. They really helped me settle back in, making the room a lot less spooky.

When everyone left, I went around Alex’s bed in search of the incriminating note.

It was nowhere.

I lifted the mattress and shifted the headboard in search of the note. Still, I couldn’t find it anywhere.

If the police took it, why didn’t they say anything?

I had been following the developments of the case on TV and there had been no mention of the note. It seemed to have simply disappeared. I was sure I wrote it and kept it on Alex’s pillow. Or didn’t I?

Am I losing my mind or something?

Everything was a bit confusing but I decided not to focus on it. Instead, I chose to move on with my day. If the note was gone, then it was in my best interest. If it ever turned up with the police, I would simply explain what it was – a coincidence.

When night came, I showered and changed into my Minnie mouse PJs, before slipping underneath the sheets and closing my eyes to sleep.

I opened my eyes and found myself back in my house. There was no one in sight, just the darkness and me.

“Mum!” I screamed.

My voice echoed back to me in waves. There was no response. It was unlike my mum to leave the front door open if she was going out.

I switched the lights on and found the living room in tact – just the way I remembered it. There was no upturned furniture or flower vase out of place. I relaxed slightly, knowing there hadn’t been a break in.

I was making my way up the stairs when I spotted the drop of blood on the railing. I looked around to see if there was any other blood stain but there wasn’t. My scan of the ceiling produced the same results. Nothing out of the ordinary.

When I got to the top of the stairs, I saw another blood stain. This one was on the floor, and it was much bigger than the one on the railing. A thousand morbid thoughts ran through my mind and I didn’t waste any more time before running into my mum’s room and flinging the door open.

To my horror, I saw my mum covered in blood, in the arms of a mysterious looking, albeit handsome man. The area around his lips was covered in blood – my mum’s blood.

He sank his teeth into her neck, just as the events unfolding before my eyes registered themselves in my brain.

“Mum!!!” I screamed at the top of my lungs, horrified by the distasteful and disgusting sight in front of me.

The blood in my veins boiled from anger, as I raced towards the monster who held my mum in his arms.

He dropped her to the ground with a thud, and bared his blood stained fangs in the most appalling smile anyone could ever give. I could see the satisfaction in his eyes as they gleamed in the dimly lit room.

I let out another blood curdling scream, just as my body jolted awake on my bed.

Goosebumps covered every exposed portion of my skin and I shivered from fear. The shivering did nothing to abate the cold sweat that broke out all over my body. I knew the dreams I was having weren’t just random but I had no proof. Everything looked and felt so real.

I felt beside my pillow for my cellphone and immediately placed a call to my mum. With every second that passed while waiting for her to pick up, my heart thundered louder. More fear and apprehension creeped into every available space in my cells.

“Hey, honey. Is everything okay?” My mum’s sleepy voice came through the speaker of my cellphone.

I heaved a sigh of relief before stuttering out the words that were intended to convey my message. Somehow, my ability to construct proper sentences disappeared and all I could do was cry.

“Mum… Monster… Dead.” The words choked their way out of my lips.

“Honey?” My mum called out, clearly confused.

I could hear the shifting on her bed and knew she was sitting up. I really wanted to relay the events of my dream but the words escaped me.

“Mum… You… Monster.”

“It’s okay, honey. It was just a nightmare.” She consoled me over the phone.

“No, mum. It felt so real.” Somehow, I managed to get a grasp of sentence formation again.

“Please… lock… the doors… and windows.” I pleaded.

“Honey, my doors and windows are always locked. It was just a nightmare.” She repeated.

I knew my mum always had the doors and windows at the house locked but I was convinced the front door was open. It was open in my dream and it felt too real not to be true.

“Please, mum. Just check.” I cried.

“Okay. I’m going to go there and check it if you promise to go back to sleep.” She said.

“Okay.” I agreed, sniffing back my tears.

I waited on the phone for a couple of seconds before she spoke again.

“Honey, I’m standing at the front door and it’s locked, just like I said.”

“Okay… Thank… God.” I sighed into the phone.

“Selena, I suggest you apply for a change of dorm rooms. You’re clearly still troubled by the horrific incident, just like anyone in your position will be. You shouldn’t keep staying there. Please put in your application in the morning. The authorities will understand.” She stated calmly.

“Okay, mum. I love you.” I replied.

“I love you too, honey.”

The line went dead but I couldn’t go back to sleep. I looked at the time on my alarm clock and it was 3:45 am. I decided it would be better to be around people so I grabbed my pillow and was heading out the door when I saw a fast moving shadow from the corner of my eye.

My blood froze in my veins, numbing my muscles from further action. The last time I saw a fast moving shadow in my room, Alex turned up dead.

Am I going to be next?

The thought horrified me even further. My neck turned in every direction, forcing my eyes to scan my surroundings quickly.

There was no one there.

I ran as fast as I could and opened the door like I was being chased.

I knocked on Trina Bayle’s door and waited for her to answer. I knew she must be fast asleep but standing alone out there in the hallway terrified me.

Thankfully, she opened the door and wrapped her hands around me. I tried to explain but the only things that came out of my mouth were sobs. Tears flowed down my cheeks like something terrible had happened.

Quite frankly, I had no idea why I was crying now. I had confirmed that my mum was fine but the fear just didn’t go away.

Trina Bayle made some hot coffee in a mug and offered me to drink. I didn’t realize how thirsty I was until the precious liquid touched my tongue. I gulped it down as much as the heat allowed me, falling asleep on her bed shortly after.

…to be continued.

Leave a Reply

