A Shade of Halloween (9)

Chapter Nine

A doctor walked into my hospital room and checked a few of the readings on the surrounding monitors. He turned to me and smiled.

“How are you feeling now, Miss. Ryder?” He asked.

“Okay, I guess.” I replied.

I wasn’t okay. I had just lost my roommate in the most horrific manner, and I was going in and out of terrifying dreams. Who would be okay in that situation?

“This is detective Howard. He’s here to ask you a few questions about what happened.” The doctor continued.

I blinked, saying nothing.

“Detective, she’s been traumatized and is still fragile. Try not to push too hard.” The doctor said, walking out of the room.

“Doctor…” I called out after him. “Can you stay here, please?”

I didn’t want to be alone with the detective. I didn’t know if I could completely trust him.

“Sure.” He smiled and took a seat at the far corner of the room.

“Miss. Ryder, I know you’ve been through a lot, but I need you to tell me anything you remember about what happened. It will really be helpful in tracking down the person who did this.” Detective Howard said, pulling a chair close to my bed.

“I came back to the dorm and found him on my bed.” I said, tears choking my words as they made their way out of my mouth.

“Was he already dead?” Detective Howard asked.

“Yes. I screamed and that’s the last thing I remember. I woke up here.” I replied.

“Okay. You’ve been really helpful and I appreciate it. I don’t intend to get you upset but I need to know everything.” He said, handing me a tissue.

I wiped my tears and nodded my understanding. I was not only devastated by what happened to Alex, I was also terrified that whoever did it to him might come for me too.

“Do you remember anything suspicious before you found him dead? Did he complain of anything? Enemies, maybe?” Detective Howard asked.

“Um… I saw a note from him on my pillow. He wrote 31-10-2016, the day you die!”

I started recounting the events from the morning of Alex’s death when something struck my mind. I had written ‘a single slash to the throat’ on the note and that was exactly how Alex was killed. How was I supposed to explain that I had no idea who did it when they did it in the exact way I described?

“Okay, Miss. Ryder. What else do you remember?” Detective Howard prodded.

“I thought I saw someone move swiftly behind me when I was applying my makeup but I didn’t see anyone when I turned around.” I replied, intentionally leaving out the part where I wrote ‘a single slash of the throat’. If they hadn’t seen the note yet, then I still had a chance to get rid of it. There was no need implicating myself and making the police waste precious investigation time on me when the real killer was out there.

“Do you remember anything else?” Detective Howard asked.

“No.” I shook my head.

“Thank you very much for your help. I hope you make a quick recovery. If we find anything, we’ll let you know.” He stated, getting up to leave.

I nodded, as I watched him leave my hospital room. The doctor nodded at me, leaving right after the detective.

Once I was alone with my thoughts, something else stood out to me. The brown book at the library with my name on it. There was a passage in there that talked about Selena’s best friend, Alexander Orwell dying from a single slash to his throat.

Is it just a coincidence?

It was a little too coincidental that the 1870 Selena had a friend with the name Alexander who died just the same way my roommate, Alex died.

I knew I had to go back to the library once I got out of the hospital. I had to read more of that Selena’s story. I had to figure everything out but first, I had to get to my dorm room and discard that implicating note.

Click HERE to read Chapter Ten

Leave a Reply

