A Shade of Halloween (8)

Chapter Eight

“My Selena.”

I heard the sound of his voice again and it terrified me just like it did the last time. I didn’t know why he referred to me that way but I certainly wasn’t ‘his Se-lee-nah’. This time, he didn’t approach me. I couldn’t see him anywhere around but I could hear his voice.

“Let me in, my Selena.” He spoke again.

I didn’t know what he meant, but there was no way I would let someone who terrified me that much anywhere close to me.

“You have to let me in…” He continued. “They’re out to get you. They’re closer than you think. Don’t let it happen again, Selena. Please. Don’t let me lose you again.”

I had no idea what he was talking about. Who was out to get me? The only person close to me was him.

“I have to…”

He started speaking again but this time, he added the terrifying appearance from thin air. I screamed at the top of my lungs and awoke one more time – in the hospital room.

I was relieved to see myself back in the safety of reality. At least, the hospital room was safe, and away from the terrifying man in my dreams. I knew I had couldn’t keep going in and out of that dream. It would make me lose my mind.

I turned my head in the direction of the chair my mother sat the last time I was awake but she wasn’t there. Instead, a man I didn’t recognize sat there. I sat up immediately, my eyes widening from fear.

“Please don’t be scared.” The man addressed me, placing his hand in front of him in a reassuring gesture.

I saw his badge and relaxed a little. I still wasn’t a hundred percent comfortable with his presence, especially after the terrifying dream I just had.

“I’m detective Howard. It’s okay, you’re safe now.” He said.

“Where’s my mum?” I asked, still looking at him skeptically.

“She went home for a change of clothes. She’ll be back shortly.” He replied.

I couldn’t believe my mum left me alone after what happened with Alex. What if the people who killed him were out to get me?

Click HERE to read Chapter Nine

Leave a Reply

