A Shade of Halloween (7)

Chapter Seven

If I had been kidnapped, screaming would not be in my best interest. I had to get a good view of my current location, noting the possible escape routes if any. The first step to achieving that was getting some form of lighting and that became my number one priority. The more I searched, the more frustrated I got. There was no light switch anywhere. My tears had run dry at this point because I had more pressing issues to deal with.

What if I’ve been kidnapped by the same people that killed Alex?

My blood felt like it was boiling within my veins. Fear was slipping into every available cell in my body, numbing and paralyzing me in the process.

Focus, Sophia. If whoever kidnapped you is not here yet, it means there’s still time to plan an escape. Besides if this is a bedroom, there should be bedside lamps.

I quickly retraced my steps back to the bed I woke up on. After bumping into the stand a couple of times, I finally made my way to the part I believe was the headboard. I felt around it but found nothing. No lamps, no switches. There was nothing to provide light in the room.

All of a sudden, the scenery changed. I was no longer in a dark bedroom but in a dimly lit bedroom that looked like something from a movie shot in the 1870s. It had plain pillars and black satin drapes which were blown about by the wind. I was still in my state of confusion when he showed up.

“My Sophia.”

His voice was deep and scary. It sent instant chills down my spine. What made my blood run cold was the unnatural speed he approached me with. I didn’t see him come in through a door or window but he was upon me in an instant.

The only expression of how startled and afraid I was, was the guttural scream of terror that escaped my lips.

Click HERE to read Chapter Eight

Leave a Reply

